The Future of Privacy Forum and the Brussels Privacy Hub have officially inaugurated “VULNERA”, the International Observatory on Vulnerable People in Data Protection. The two Scientific Coordinators are Gianclaudio Malgieri and Gabriela Zanfir-Fortuna.

It is a research dissemination and networking platform focusing on the multifaceted connotations that the notion of human ‘vulnerability’ may assume in the data protection and privacy domains. Established under the Brussels Privacy Hub and Future of Privacy Forum Europe, the Observatory absolves primarily two functions: research & education and dissemination.

Research and Education

By documenting a wide variety of resources, ranging from academic works to policy documents and judgments, arranged in thematic sections, tackling the vulnerabilities of people in data processing from different points of view (e.g., within the processing or as an outcome of the data processing; depending on gender, age, sexual orientation, the status of migrant, etc.).


By creating a multidisciplinary network of researchers, practitioners, public officials and activists with complementary expertise in order to promote a debate (through events, webinars, conferences, and research projects) towards a common and deeper understanding of the factors affecting the vulnerability of individuals and groups in the digital world. Among our goals is to strengthen the involvement of civil society in academic research by facilitating contact between researchers and human rights activists and organisations.


The executive team is composed of two Scientific Coordinators (Gianclaudio Malgieri and Gabriela Zanfir-Fortuna), two Managing Co-directors (Katerina Demetzou and Alessandra Calvi), and two resources contributors (Dila Ay and Wenkai Li).

The scientific Network is composed of Mireille Hildebrandt, Simone van der Hof, Natali Helberger, Julie Cohen, Frank Pasquale, Ivana Bartoletti, Nóra Ni Loideain, Linnet Taylor, Malavika Jayaram, Leyla Keser, Frederik Zuiderveen Borgesius, Orla Lynskey, Stefania Milan, Margot Kaminski, Ursula Pachl, Ari Ezra Waldman, Kevin Guyan, Eduard Fosch Villaronga, Jedrzej Niklas, Petra Molnar, Marijn Sax, Eleftherios Chelioudakis, Yigit Aydinalp, Tanya Krupiy, Olga Gkotsopoulou, Carlotta Rigotti, Ine Van Zeeland, Jonas Breuer, Ayça Atabey.

More info here:

The Twitter page is here.